How To Reinstate a Suspended Alabama License

Do you need to reinstate your suspended Alabama drivers license? The reinstatement process doesn't have to be complicated, but make sure you do it in a timely manner.

Driving with a suspended Alabama drivers license is a serious offense with serious consequences. A suspended license can even result in jail time if not reinstated. We've collected helpful information to assist you with everything you need to reinstate your Alabama license. Select from the options below to get started.

1: Get Started with Online Application Assistance

Online application assistance can simplify the process for many DLD related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. In addition to the free forms and general instructions available from the DLD offices or websites, you will receive value added products such as a comprehensive Easy Guide containing information relevant to your service needs. Where possible, we will prepare your DLD forms and/or provide links to DLD online services. You will also receive 30 days of both emergency Roadside Assistance and the Repair Assist consultation service from Road America. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.

2: By mail

Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the DLD in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local DLD.

3: Via a DLD office

If you prefer to access DLD services in person or your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at a physical DLD office location. Varying DLD offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DLD closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your local DLD allows you to make a personal appointment. Read more below to see if an in-person visit is either preferred or required.




Your license may be suspended for a variety of reasons. Some situations are clear, while others are subtle, with some drivers unaware that their license is suspended at all. In this guide, you'll find information on the steps necessary to reinstate your license in the state of Alabama, no matter what your violation was.

Driving with a license that is suspended or revoked is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine between $100 and $500 and up to 180 days in jail as well as an additional $50 penalty in Alabama. Driving with a suspended license may also result in your car being impounded and further suspension.

Offenses resulting in revocation or suspension

Drivers who have been convicted of certain driving violations or other offenses may have their driving privileges suspended or revoked. Suspension means having your driving privileges revoked for a set period of time, while revocation means having your license terminated indefinitely. If your license is revoked, you may apply for a new license after your revocation period ends.

Your license may be suspended for the following driving-related offenses:

  • Conducting a motor vehicle when your blood alcohol content is above the legal limit
  • Refusing a breathalyzer test to determine your blood alcohol content
  • Accumulating 12 or more license points in a two-year period
  • Having an unpaid judgment against you
  • Being involved in a motor vehicle accident resulting in death, injury or more than $500 in damage to property
  • Not having liability insurance

The Director of Public Safety may also revoke your license for certain convictions, including:

  • If ordered by a court, a first conviction for driving under the influence
  • A second or subsequent conviction within a five-year period for driving under the influence
  • Manslaughter or homicide by vehicle
  • A felony in which a motor vehicle is used
  • Failure to stop if you are involved in a motor vehicle accident that results in someone's death or injury
  • Making a false statement under oath to the Department of Public Safety relating to the ownership or operation of a motor vehicle
  • Three convictions for reckless driving within a period of 12 months
  • Unauthorized use of a motor vehicle, even if the conviction is not a felony.

Hardship and Ignition Interlock Licenses

The Department of Public Safety may also install an interlock ignition device for drivers convicted of certain DUI offenses. The interlock device requires drivers to blow into a breathalyzer to ensure that they have not been drinking prior to starting their vehicles. The DPS requires that drivers convicted of certain DUI offenses use interlock ignition devices for a period of two or more years following suspension under a 2011 Alabama law.

Reinstating Your License

After your suspension period ends, you are entitled to reinstate your license. To apply for reinstatement, visit your local driver license office and pay the reinstatement fee. A list of driver license offices is available at: http://dps.alabama.gov/Home/wfContentTableDB.aspx?ID=30&PLH1=DLOFFICES

Fees

Reinstatement fees vary depending on the offense committed:

Suspended/canceled driver's licenses: $100

Revoked driver's licenses: $175

Failure to surrender license within 30 days: $50

Failure to pay child support: $50

Alcohol- and drug-related offenses:

Suspended driver's license: $275

Revoked driver's license: $275

Additional drug-related fee: $25